DeSantis Rallies for School Board Candidates, Education Agenda Ahead of Election

August 22, 2022 Updated 10:34 AM ET

Gov. Ron DeSantis promotes school board candidates and education agenda in Duval County, August 21, 2022.
Gov. Ron DeSantis promotes school board candidates and education agenda in Duval County, August 21, 2022.

FLORIDA (FLV) – Gov. Ron DeSantis toured parts of Florida Sunday promoting school board candidates and his education agenda ahead of Florida’s primary election Tuesday.

The DeSantis Education Agenda Tour stopped in Miami-Dade, Sarasota, Volusia, and Duval Counties.

“Florida has led with purpose and conviction that our school system is about education, not indoctrination. Our education agenda is focused on protecting parental rights, curriculum transparency, and keeping classrooms free of woke ideology,” DeSantis said.

“Across our state, Floridians are ready for local school boards who promote education, not indoctrination. It was great to be in these counties to share our bold agenda for education ahead of the important election on August 23.” 

DeSantis made the uncommon move to endorse school board candidates across the state in the non-partisan race. The DeSantis campaign said the governor is the first to put forth a slate of school board candidates.

The governor-endorsed school board candidates have pledged to run on the DeSantis Education Agenda: Putting Students First, Protecting Parents’ Rights. This is a statewide blueprint for school board candidates and members who want to advance Governor DeSantis’s agenda at the local school board level.

DeSantis Campaign Launches Initiative to Show School Board Candidates, Members if They Align With Governor

Here is the list of DeSantis’ endorsed local school board candidates:

Al Hernandez – Pasco County

Armor Persons – Lee County

Chad Choate – Manatee County 

Christy Chong – Flagler County  

Cindy Spray – Manatee County  

Colonel Richard Tatem – Manatee County 

Darren Horan – Monroe County 

Erin Skipper – Clay County 

Jacqueline Rosario – Indian River County 

Jaime Haynes – Volusia County 

Jennifer Russell – Martin County 

Jill Woolbright – Flagler County 

Robyn Marinelli – Sarasota County 

Sam Fisher – Lee County 

Stephanie Busin – Hendry County 

Phil Leary – Putnam County 

Mildred Russell – Alachua County  

Megan Wright – Brevard County 

April Carney – Duval County 

Charlotte Joyce – Duval County 

Aly Legge – Hillsborough County  

Roberto Alonso – Miami-Dade County 

Monica Colucci – Miami-Dade County  

Bridget Ziegler – Sarasota County  

Timothy Enos – Sarasota County  

Fred Lowry – Volusia County   

Alexandria Suarez – Monroe County 

Stacy Hahn – Hillsborough County  

Patricia Rendon – Hillsborough County   

Rick Nolte – Polk County 

Share This Post

Florida’s Voice is a patriotic news network that you can trust to deliver the truth with no hidden agenda. Founder and Editor in Chief Brendon Leslie left his job in mainstream news to practice journalism as it should be, unbiased and unbossed.

Latest News

1 1 vote
Article Rating
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments